How To Become a Morning Person:

Is a course I am taking through the Little Green Dot: http://littlegreendot.com/

It is apparently not about getting up early, but about feeling more calm and less stressed in the morning.  Okay, I get that. I won’t argue the base foundation of that.  But for me to feel that, I also need to get up earlier.

Okay, Day 1, and they say to pick One Goal.  Yikes, I’m doomed already.  I have two.

I want to get fitter.

I want to finish my novel.

But ultimately I want to be a happier healthier version of myself.  There are parts of me that I love, and there are parts that I look at and say needs improvement.

Example:  I have a pair of skinny jeans at home I bought a couple of years ago (okay more like 5 years ago), that have increasingly gotten tighter and tighter to the point I can’t wear them.  Would I love to loose weight and see the number of the scale go down, for sure.  Seeing numbers go down is helpful in keeping track of progress.  However, if in the end the number doesn’t fluctuate that much, but the jeans fit, I’m good with that too.  I’ve also had some back problems recently, and refocusing on getting fitter and healthier will help with that.

Now I am no stranger to the gym.  Recently I have been, but it doesn’t scare me the way it used to.  In fact there was a time I used to get up early to go to the gym.  That time was when I was very dissatisfied with my work environment, and I found going to the gym before work helped to get me through.   I want to create that same positive energy in the morning, that makes me feel like I have put myself first, but without the resentment towards the day job.  The day job may not be my life long goal and passion, but it is perfectly acceptable for now, and doesn’t deserve my resentment.  There are areas in my work life I would like to improve on, however, I am looking at change as a whole. The things I want to change are also in my personal life and can and should create a much better me everywhere, including at work.

Secondly, I have a novel to write.  I have gotten up in the morning to work on this before, and it did feel good, to get that little shove of creative energy before the day even started.  However, it always felt like not enough either.  That being said, getting up and doing gym stuff in the morning, frees up more evening time to write.  So if all I get is a few hundred words in the morning, that is fine, I know I have more space in the evening for this creative pursuit.

To be successful at these goals, I know I need to set myself up for success by doing as much prep the night before.  I pick out my outfits for the week on the weekend. I get my gym stuff ready the night before, and any snacks I need for work.  That way when the morning hits, I am prepared and not feeling swamped with all the minute details, and disorganized.

Things to consider:

Can/should I go to the gym 5 days a week, or should I go Monday, Wednesday, Friday.  And thusly use Tuesday, and Thursday to write more in the AM.

I feel like I am going to go for the not 5 days a week approach to the gym.  That feels too daunting.  However, I do want to keep wake up call the same so as to build a healthier sleep pattern. I am going to  become very familiar with 5am.

The overall goal here though is to put me first.  To do Me positive things in the morning before I feel that all of my time has been given away to something else, someone else.  I want to build a positive healthier me, and I want this attitude to reflect everywhere in my life.

Alright Poppets, I don’t know if I am going to blog every day about this, but I will try to keep you up to date with what’s going on.

Leave a Reply

