Me First and the Gimme Gimmes.

But first a picture of me at 6 am, aren’t I just the prettiest princess on the block!

IMG_3523

This week has been the first week of my hauling but out of bed earlier in the morning to fit in some much needed me time before work, so I am not a horrible person to people who pay me money not to be horrible.  Mostly though it was for me, so I could feel like I come first and not work.

List of listy things:

  • I will always be tired.  Yup.  Weather I get up at 5:30 am or 7 am it’s going to suck either way.   I am going to resent the alarm and not sleeping in, always.  But if the hardest part is getting up and I’m good to go once I do, then let’s get up earlier for the benefits of getting my day started right.
  • I was probably a little over ambitious with what I could get done in the amount of time I was giving myself.  Example, I can’t go to the gym, run, lift weights, stretch down, get ready for work and still spend time writing in the morning.  Not unless I get up at like 4 in the morning.  And let’s face it that is being a little unreasonable and expecting super human efforts from myself.  It would essentially be me setting myself up for failure, too much too fast.
  • Which means I am also learning to be flexible and adjust with the time I have.  Example, this morning I forgot my gym bag at home and only realized when I got the gym.  I had to turn around and go back for it.  I adapted my run to meet the time requirements.  The other day I wanted to write before work, but my husband needed some help with his flight back home, so I spent that time doing that.  Then when he got home, he woke me in the middle of the night, so instead of writing in the morning, I slept a little more, and got up and had tea and read a little.  I still felt great going into work, and still did things for me before I got there, but it wasn’t the original plan.
  • I don’t like big breakfasts when I first wake up.  I like to ease myself into food.  After the gym I am hungrier, so I eat then.  If it’s not a gym morning, then a light morning snack to get me going.
  • The afternoon slump.  At around 2pm my brain becomes mush and I need a little pick me up.  Either that or to relocated to a country where siesta’s are the norm.  I consider this a small price to pay and completely something I can adapt for.
  • I have been sleeping more soundly.  Huzzah.

Overall it’s been great.  There have been hiccups, but it’s about adjusting course as needed and being flexible.  The whole purpose of this for me, is for me to feel like I have come first.  And each morning I have done that.  Maybe not in the way I had originally planned, but a me first need was being met in each of those cases.

As for the course, I’m taking it as extra motivation to keep me on track.  It just happened that my goals and the course aligned for just the perfect timing and who am I to resist serendipity.

Alright Poppets, what do you do for you first in the morning?

4 thoughts on “Me First and the Gimme Gimmes.

  1. What time do you have to go to bed to be ready for an early morning like that?

    I love mornings myself, and I try to do stuff I find rewarding before I start work at 9 a.m because I feel kinda soulless just rolling out of bed and immediately getting ready for work. But being alert enough for it is a crapshoot! If I’m tired, I still get up but I find myself just listening to music and making a to-do list. An ideal morning for me is doing those two things, but also getting in at least 45-minutes of writing time. Sometimes it happens, sometimes it doesn’t.

    (P.S. Hi Julia! *waves*)

    1. Hi Christa!!!! *waves back*

      I am up between 5:30 and 5:45 am and start work for 8. I do a lot of prep work the night before. Example: Have kettle filled, and loose leaf tea already in tea pot. Outfit picked out. Lunch and snacks packed for work. If it’s a gym day I will have my gym clothes out to get changed into first thing, and have all my work clothes ready in my gym bag, and my pre-work out drink ready to just add water in the morning. I rotate between writing mornings and gym mornings. On writing morning I make myself a snack to munch on and sip tea while writing and it is amazing. Also a play list of songs that make you want to get up and move is helpful. I put that on while I’m getting ready and it really gets me in the right frame of mind.

      Think about your own habits and look for small places you can tweak that will make life easier for you and less stressed in the morning. It all helps. 🙂

Leave a Reply

