This Mornings Flash, based on an almost true story.

“Where were you this morning?”  Says across the desk from me.  The one who doesn’t come in until  the kid has been dropped off and has worked our there schedule around there life.  The one who now sits in judgment of not allowing similar accommodations.

Because I straightened my hair instead of putting it up in a ponytail.  Because I added a  hair clip at the last minute.  Because I brushed my teeth when I knew I should have been walking out the door.  Because I made tea even though I knew I had to leave in 10 minutes.  Because I packed some snacks even though I should have been walking out the door.  Because I played on my phone for five minutes instead of bolting out of bed, and chatted with an old friend across the world.  Because life happens, and why am I trying to shove myself into a box that doesn’t fit me?  Because you get to do what you damned well please and build your schedule at work around your own life.

Instead I say, “The morning got away from me.”  Because it’s the truth, but only part of it, and the only kind that may be swallowed.

Leave a Reply

