To Finish, or not to Finish. Or to start anew.

I find I want to write on my blog in one to two situations.  The first being when I’m going through personal crisis, which is not okay for public consumption and better done in my journal.  The second is about writing, and more specifically NaNoWriMo.

It’s that season again Poppets.  It is NaNoWriMo.

And Maggie Steifvater, one of my ultimate favorite animals, possibly a patron saint of writing, posted about what NaNoWriMo might be good for.  As in not nothing, as her previous stance about it was.

I liked how she explained how she had come to her previous stance regarding NaNoWriMo, because it actually made me re-evaluate why I keep participating in NaNoWriMo. I also liked how she made you consider why you were doing NaNoWriMo this year, and how to use it.

I have discovered that I am very good at starting things.  I am not so good at finishing them.

NaNoWriMo is designed to get people to start the thing.  Now that I have done NaNoWriMo several years (this will be my 7th) I know I can start the thing.  I am not doubtful about the starting.  What I am doubtful about is the finishing.  I have/haven’t finished a thing.  I have a book, and I have been plucking at it, putting it into order, but there are holes, and the ending, is wishy washy, and in my mind, the thing is just not done yet.  Nope.

And so I thought I was going to do NaNoWriMo and work on a project that I have tried many times before and is dear to me, but that I just haven’t mastered yet.  A project that I love eternally, and think it has great potential.  I thought I would work on that.  I want to work on that.

But I also need to finish the thing.  So the first half of the month is going to be dedicated to finishing.  Maybe all of the month.  But when NaNoWriMo is done, that is the goal I want to hit this year. Not a word count (though I will be keeping track of that), but a personal milestone.

If I finish the thing, with time to spare, I will start on the project I heart so much.

Leave a Reply

